I apologize to any Romance Writers I may have offended with my first post when I commented my attempts at writing were typical unsophisticated romance type stories.  I did not mean in any way to offend Romance Writers (they have a hard enough job), I was merely trying to comment on my lack of sophistication and lack of knowledge in the fine arts of romance.

I was a voracious reader as a child and devoured anything I could get my hands on.  As I entered tween years my tastes evolved to romance stories and since this was what I was reading when I made my first attempts to write, this is what I knew best and tried to copy it not realizing I had no idea what I was talking about.  To me, the formula seemed fairly standard – girl meets boy, girl dislikes boy, boy wins over girl with some good deed and boy wins girl to live with happily ever after.  If only life were so simple as I thought it was at the time.

I’m left wondering if this is the reason so many young girls fall for the wrong guy?  Do they actually think he has a heart of gold hidden somewhere under his leather jacket?  We can excuse his rude, arrogant and bad behavior because someday he will do something wonderful?  Food for thought . . .

