Does anyone know why when we feel sad, they say we have the blues?  Or we’re in a blue funk?  What about the baby blues (euphemism for post-partum depression)?  What has the color blue have to do with being sad?  And who came up with this in the first place?  What did that person have against the color blue?

I’ve always thought of blue as a cool color, refreshing (like the Caribbean Ocean), relaxing – but never as sad.  To me a sad color would be brown.  Besides being the color of chocolate (& I love me some chocolate) what has brown got to recommend it? Or maybe black is the sad color?  Although this may have been overdone during the Goth era & so people hesitate to use it to express sadness anymore.

But it seems blue is the accepted color – there are hundreds of references to blue in our culture like the Elvis Presley song Blue Christmas.  Even Elton John doesn’t seem to know the answer (& I thought Elton John knew everything):

“And I guess that’s why they call it the blues
Time on my hands could be time spent with you
Laughing like children, living like lovers
Rolling like thunder under the covers
And I guess that’s why they call it the blues”

Well, whatever the reason, I have been in a “blue funk” for a little while.  Nothing terribly serious, just some work issues, making me feel out of sorts.  So if you’ve been following me, you may have noticed I have been absent for a bit. Hopefully, this is behind me now & we can all get back to our regularly scheduled programming.

But I still want to know why blue?

