The Laughing Housewife posed a challenge earlier this week about naming our favorite things based on the Sound of Music. Since I haven’t participated in a writing challenge in quite a while, I thought I would start out slow with something I already know.  It was surprisingly difficult though to narrow it down to just a few things to fit into a post.

Since my list keeps growing the older I get, I thought I would break them down in categories:

Food

As I’ve mentioned before in my posts, I have a sweet tooth that would fit into the mouth of a Tyrannasaurus Rex, a lot of my favorites are sweets:  I like donuts (yeast raised preferably), chocolate cupcakes, banana bread, carrot muffins, Jeannies Cake (a bakery in Wpg. where the cakes are set on short bread & covered in a wonderful cooked icing that is so light it melts in your mouth), carrot cake with cream cheese icing, red velvet cake, key lime pie, banana cream pie, pumpkin pie, believe it or not I actually like fruit cake both light & dark with almond paste icing, trifle, chocolate of just about any kind, especially dark chocolate, jello with fruit, pudding, peanut butter on hot dogs or bananas, apples, peaches, pears, strawberries, green grapes, apricots, cashews, macadamia nuts, almonds, pecans, pizza, pasta with alfredo sauce & melting cheese.

Smells

I love the smell of freshly baked bread, freshly washed hair, my hubby’s aftershave, clean laundry, cooked apples & cinnamon, coffee brewing, roses, carnations, lilies, vanilla, frying onions, bacon,  & scented candles.

Sights

Large bodies of water (like lakes or oceans so I love cruising), big fluffy snowflakes that fall when the temperature isn’t too cold, the first crocuses of spring, pussy willows, bull rushes, flights of geese, & butterflies flitting over a meadow.

Sounds

Children laughing, bells ringing, Christmas carols, disco music, the Beatles, ABBA, Simon & Garfunckel, Bryan Adams, believe it or not a lot of Lady Gaga songs, Cindy Lauper, Michael Buble & the words “I Love You” from my hubby or any of my children.

____________________________________________________________

Like I said, as I grow older, my list keeps growing, so I’m sure there are many things I’ve forgotten but this should give you a good idea.

What are your favorite things?

