This is my 100th post! No big celebration however because of Sandy (the storm of course) – too many of my blogging buddies are in the path of Superstorm Sandy for me to celebrate. Therefore, just 1 firework!

I am hoping all my blogging buddies on the eastern seaboard are well, safe, warm & dry.  While I am not familiar with this kind of storm, I am way too familiar with extreme blizzards (snow storms) where the whole city has to shut down.  Often this means no power for a lot of people because power lines are downed by heavy snow on the power lines or trees felled by heavy snow & then falling on power lines.  In Winnipeg, where I grew up, these type of blizzards happen every 10 – 12 years.  No power at 20 degrees below zero can be quite a challenge.

I remember a blizzard when I was 9 or 10 years old.  I wasn’t much effected by the actual storm – it just meant 3 days without school.  When it was over & I could return to school, it was a chilling sight to walk to school.  The route was familiar but it was very high.  Where the wind had blown the snow away, you could see you were walking on a crust of snow a couple feet above the roofs of cars.  You couldn’t even tell there was a car buried in the snow, so you were walking on the roofs.  The same day I returned to school, we went to dig out my cousin who was expecting & had just lost her husband.  She lived in a 2 storey house & we walked along the snow crust & could not find her door, we could only find her 2nd storey windows.  When you opened the door from inside the house, you were met with a solid wall of snow.  We spent hours digging her & her 3 small children out of the house.  We brought her & her children to our house by toboggan in case they needed more help.

Approximately 10 years later, when I lived in my first apartment on the third floor of a 3 floor walk up, we got another blizzard that shut down the city for 3 days.  Our caretaker was a fireman who got stuck at the firehall & the heat went out in half the building.  I woke up in the morning to seeing my breath because I had no heat or power.  I looked out my window to see the snow just a few feet below my 3rd floor window.  I tried to get the caretaker, but to no avail.  I went down the hall to a neighbor I knew & he had no heat either.  Thankfully my next door neighbor (a couple I had never met) offered to let my friend & I stay in their apartment.  We all cleaned out our freezers, pooled our food, our beer & made a big communal bed in the middle of their living room.  We ate, we drank, we played card games & rode out the storm.

About 9 years later, when we had another one of these storms, I was pleased beyond belief when my home delivery milkman showed up at my door, carrying milk,cream, butter & eggs on a toboggan, the first day the snow let up.  He had walked into our new development from 4 blocks away (the closest he could get his vehicle) pulling his precious food stuff behind him because he knew he had young mothers with new babies on  his route & he wanted to make sure they were OK & had the food they needed.

Some of you may have noticed there was no Monday Mirth this week.  If you did, thank you for noticing!  I have been contemplating moving Monday Mirth to Tuesday or Wednesday because of Edward Hotspur’s Romantic Mondays.  I am thoroughly enjoying participating in this blog event every week, so I encourage everyone to hop on over there & participate!  But it is too much for me to compose 2 posts every Monday, something always suffers & I don’t want either post to get less than my best (whatever that may be).  I asked for some suggestions on names for a Tuesday or Wednesday Mirth type blog & received some great suggestions.  So let me know what you think & I’ll leave this open until Sunday night (Nov. 3?, don’t have a calendar handy) to hopefully allow my East Coast blogging buddies to cast their votes too:

Stay safe, warm & dry!

