So, it’s my one year Blogiversary & this is what I woke up to – snow, snow & more snow:

And last night hubby reminded me the water would be turned off in our building from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m. today since the complex is working on the plumbing.  Luckily for me, hubby is a strong proponent of distilled water (we distill our own water), so we have plenty of drinking water on hand.  I can still have my coffee which is the best news for everyone around me.  But I can’t have a shower or flush the toilet for 7 long hours.  Luckily I woke up early enough to be able to brush my teeth & take my medication before the water went off.

We were the first on our side of the complex to put our Christmas lights up.  We have now been joined by 2 other apartments.  The one we have to crane our necks to see is on the 2nd floor of the building opposite & about 4 apartments down from ours.  They have a very nice waterfall design of pale green, white & red lights.  The other one is the apartment on the 4th floor of the building opposite us & we can see their apartment from our patio doors.  They put up a single string of those dark blue lights in an icicle formation.  It doesn’t even cover the width of their balcony, but I’m happy to see someone else with lights.

I’m having trouble figuring out these people.  There are occasional signs of life during the day & early evening, but even when they do turn their Christmas lights on – they are out by 9 p.m.  And all their lights are out by 9 p.m.  But then some lights go back on in the middle of the night, like 1 or 2 a.m.  But then they only go on for a little while & then go back out again & then there are very few signs of life again.  When you do see someone it’s a gent in his pyjamas or a small oriental lady who sometimes hangs laundry on the balcony.  We haven’t seen much of her since it started snowing & became cold.

The good thing about the cold is we haven’t got all our windows open all the time so we aren’t getting the fumes from our next door neighbors who smoke a lot of weed.  Is it my imagination or has the smell of weed changed a lot.  It now smells like 2 days old dead skunk & it used to have a more mellow aroma.  It was always very distinctive, but it wasn’t as offensive as it seems to be now.  (You may remember we had trouble with weed being smoked in our other apartment building too & it smelled like dead skunk also.)  I have nothing against people having a good time as long as they don’t interfere with my happiness too by stinking me out.

So a lot has changed in the past year:

  1. I lost the job I had last year when I started my blog
  2. The only 2 of my daughters who were married last year have since separated
  3. I moved from one apartment where we were getting smoked out by weed & false fire alarms to another apartment where our neighbors smoke weed

But some things remain the same – I still want to write & if you’ll put up with me for a while longer I’ll continue to keep posting.

