Rachelle-Ebook-02-Self-vs-Forest-Green-White-Lettering-SmallSo you’ve written a book? Now what? The natural next step is to think about publishing. Should you self-publish or go the traditional publishing route? This very much depends on what your goal is for writing your book & what kind of person you are.

Although I am not nearly finished my book, the question of how I would publish my book as been uppermost in my mind for quite some time.

I have wanted to be an author since I was a young girl.  When I first started thinking about publishing a book, the only option available to me was traditional publishing which meant getting an agent who would then try to sell my book to the big publishing houses.  The process could take years before I even knew if my book would be accepted.  However, I would be helped through the process by a team of professionals whose sole job is to make books their best before they are offered to the public.

But now I have another option:  I could self-publish my book.  It would take less time & my book could be out in a matter of months from when I finish it.  But if I self-publish, I will be solely responsible for what my book looks like – the font, the front cover, the back cover plus all the printing & publicity, editing, marketing, promoting & the costs.

If you’ve asked yourself these types of questions, help is on the way!  Rachelle Gardner (an  agent for Books & Such Literary Agency) has written a great guide to help you make up your mind on which way to publish is the right way for you.  There were so many points to take into consideration plus charts & questionnaires to help me decide.  There were many things I had never thought of until I read this book.  I feel like I understand the publishing industry so much better after reading just one book.

The e-book is available now on Amazon by clicking HERE. It will soon be available on Barnes & Noble online, iBooks, Kobo, Sony and other sites as well.  Rachelle also has a great blog where she discusses issues pertinent to writers which I have been following for quite some time.  It’s great to have an insider’s perspective on what is happening in the publishing industry.  She offers many helpful tips like how to write a query letter, etc.  You can connect with her on Twitter (@RachelleGardner) or on Facebook (http://www.facebook.com/agent.rachelle)

Disclaimer:  I received a free copy of this book for an honest review.

