i-am-part-of-the-family-awardI AM PART OF THE WORDPRESS FAMILY AWARD

THE RULES FOR THE AWARD ARE:

1. Display the award logo on your blog.
2. Link back to the person who nominated you.
3. Nominate 10 others you see as having an impact on your WordPress experience and family
4. Let your 10 Family members know you have awarded them

I was nominated for this award by Edward Hotspur.

Nominations: See below

taggedI’VE BEEN TAGGED

I was tagged by Marsha Lee from TCHistory Gal.  The idea is to answer eleven questions set by her and then ask more questions to eleven others.  My questions:

  1. What book are you reading right now?  I won’t actually name the book I am reading right now because I am reading the book to review it, but I did just finish re-reading the Necroscope series by Brian Lumley.  In between book reviews I am also reading The Womens Murder Club Series by James Patterson.  I have read a number of the books in this series previously, but some new books have been added to the series so it is good to start from the beginning again.
  2. What mini-vacation (0-100 miles from your home) have you particularly enjoyed within the last year?  Last December hubby had to go to a business meeting in Calgary & I went along for a quick visit with our cousins Jason & Cindy & my two fur nieces Chloe & Pepper.  It was just an overnight visit, but it was a great little get-away.  Technically, Calgary is 300 kms. away from Edmonton, but it’s the only mini-vacation we’ve taken in the last 3 years.
  3. What is your favorite form of entertainment?  I would rather read than do anything else in the world, but my second favorite entertainment is TV.  I enjoy Castle, Dancing with the Stars, Bones, Rizzoli & Isles, Law & Order, Criminal Minds, The Following, Revolution, Dr. Who, Defiance, Hawaii 5-0, Deadliest Catch, NCIS, Hell’s Kitchen, Body of Proof, Elementary, Hannibal, American Idol, Supernatural, Homeland, Chicago Fire, Person of Interest, Grey’s Anatomy, Motive, Scandal, Vegas & Blue Bloods.
  4. Of what accomplishments are you the most proud?  I am most proud of the mother I was to my own child, stepchildren & children of my heart.  I always tried to be a good example & treated all my children with respect while expecting them to treat me with respect also.  I tried to instill a sense of accomplishment, good work ethics & kindness in them all.
  5. Who has been most influential in your life in the past year?  I would have to say most of my blogging buddies have been very influential in my life in many different ways.  The sense of acceptance was a bane for my soul when I felt so alone.
  6. If you were raising money for a favorite charity, where would you direct our checks?  My charity of choice would be the Muscular Dystrophy Association since I had a friend who was afflicted with this disease while I was growing up.  My second choice would be a cancer society for the loved ones of friends who have lost their fight or are still fighting this dreadful disease.
  7. If you weren’t doing the work or career you are in, what would you like to be doing?  When I was in high school I wanted to be a Flight Attendant, but the waiting list was way too long the year I graduated so I went into office work instead.  Right now I am unemployed, but I would want to be a writer.
  8. If you could have named yourself, what would your name be and why?  Since I hated the name my parents gave me, I did choose my name – the one I use now.  The name my parents gave me was misspelled on my birth certificate so I endured 12 years in school of teachers mispronouncing my name on the first day of school & all the kids laughing at the funny name the teachers called me.  I have not legally changed my name because it would break my mother’s heart, but I have used my adopted name for more years now than I used my real name.
  9. What would you most like to tell your children, or important young person in your life but haven’t?  Since I’ve been very open with my children, I can’t think of anything I would want to tell them I haven’t already told them except how much I love them every day.
  10. How do you change your mood when you are grumpy?  I try to wear bright colors & fake it till I make it.
  11. What particular skill could you teach us on your blog?  I would hope people would take away the message that even though you may have had a hard life, there is always something to laugh about.

Here are the lucky people I’m tagging.

  1. Rarasaur
  2. Behind the Mask of Abuse
  3. Pouring My Art Out
  4. Enchanted Seashells
  5. Guapola
  6. Mark My Words
  7. Elroy Jones
  8. The Fur Files
  9. Becoming Cliche
  10. FASAB
  11. It’s Just Life
  12. Diatribes & Ovations
  13. Archon’s Den
  14. Photos from the Loony Bin
