AfloatAfloat by Erin Healy is about how a group of people react to a disaster.  Danielle Clement and her son Simeon live in a complex of floating condominiums designed by Vance Nolan as a result of her relationship with Tony Dean, the developer.  When a mysterious explosion cuts off the only building of occupied condos from the rest of the development as well as the mainland, the residents of the building, along with a few workers and visitors, cope in their own way and have to face the decision to stay or to go.

This book is put forth as a book of supernatural fiction. While there are certainly a number of supernatural events happening including unexplained white lights in the water there is very little suspense.  Instead of being suspenseful, this book comes across more as a parable on keeping your faith rather than a work of suspense fiction.  The author leads you from one supernatural experience to another in rapid succession without much pause to build suspense.  The supernatural experiences feel like tests of faith.

Since I am a big fan of the supernatural, I wanted to like this book but I found it did not capture my imagination and I found my mind wandering as I was reading.  I would give this book a two out of five.

Disclosure of Material Connection: I received this book free from the publisher through the BookSneeze®.com <http://BookSneeze®.com&gt; book review bloggers program. I was not required to write a positive review. The opinions I have expressed are my own. I am disclosing this in accordance with the Federal Trade Commission’s 16 CFR, Part 255 <http://www.access.gpo.gov/nara/cfr/waisidx_03/16cfr255_03.html&gt; : “Guides Concerning the Use of Endorsements and Testimonials in Advertising.”

