Courtesy Microsoft Clip Arts

Courtesy Microsoft Clip Arts

Monday & Tuesday were very interesting days around here. The condo board needed to make some repairs to our plumbing, so they scheduled a water shut-off for Monday from 9 a.m. to 4 p.m.  Since I rarely leave the apartment, I had forgotten about it.  I ran a load of laundry at 8:22 a.m. when the landscaping people were running their mowers back & forth over the little bit of lawn we have between the 2 buildings.  And of course, since it’s been warm, I had the windows open & they woke me up – the reason I threw a load of laundry in so early.  It seemed to me the water in the washer was a little cool but I didn’t worry about it because I prefer to wash in cool water anyway.

Later in the day I wanted to rinse out the tin cans before putting them in the recycling bin, but there was no water (which was when I remembered about the notice in the main vestibule).  By 8 p.m. we still had no water, so hubby called the condo board emergency line & they phoned back to let us know there had been a glitch – we should have water in about an hour.  Sure enough we had water about an hour & a half later, but no hot water!  We had to run the taps for a good long time to get all the air & crap out of the lines – but no hot water.  At first we thought it was just going to take the water heater a while to warm up, so we decided to check it in the morning.

Tuesday morning – no hot water.  Dishes in the sink, laundry to be done & no showers for us.  Bird bathed with wet wipes so I wouldn’t feel so grimy.  The cold water was working so I could brush my teeth at least.  Finally, a little before 4 p.m. the hot water came back on & I had to run the lines wide open to get the air & crud out again.

You don’t realize how much you miss something until it’s gone!

