Woman with Mask for OxygenFrom Wikipedia:  Chronic obstructive pulmonary disease (COPD), also known as chronic obstructive lung disease (COLD), and chronic obstructive airway disease (COAD), among others, is a type of obstructive lung disease characterized by chronically poor airflow. It typically worsens over time. The main symptoms including shortness of breath, cough and sputum production.  Most people with chronic bronchitis have COPD.

The main component here is chronic.  There is no cure and it gets progressively worse.  Tobacco smoking is the most common cause of COPD, with a number of other factors such as air pollution and genetics playing a smaller role.

After over a month of being sick, not being able to get dressed without losing my breath or walking to the bathroom without having to sit for 10 minutes to catch my breath, being misdiagnosed as having pneumonia, being put on antibiotics to which I had a bad reaction, being put on a new puffer to which I was allergic & undergoing multiple tests, I have been told I definitively have COPD.  They have changed my puffer (which seems to be helping marginally).  But because of the nature of this disease, it appears I’m pretty close to the best I’m going to get for the rest of my days here.  My breathing & shortness of breath will continue to get worse.

One of the reasons I wanted to do this post is because even though I quit smoking almost 2 years ago, I guess I didn’t quit early enough.   So if you’re still smoking, please please quit now before you end up in my position.

The other reason is:  I am so tired of people making comments or jokes about “fatties riding scooters in department stores” or other jokes about “fat people being too fat to haul their own asses around.”  

Just because you can’t SEE a person’s disability does not mean they don’t have one.  To look at me, besides being overweight, you would not think I have a disability except I walk with a cane.  I find the jokes about “fatties” not being disabled extremely hurtful & I would like people to think before assuming a fat person is a joke.

