I just had to re-blog this post by Chris Donner because all my life people have been calling me snobby because I have a hard time in social situations. I have always said I am just shy, but it’s not just a matter of being shy in my case – I am an introvert! I can no longer disguise this fact. I don’t make friends easily & I treasure the ones I do have (especially on the blogs because I get to control how much of their “noise” I allow into my space by controlling how much I contribute to their comments or decide when I will read their posts. Most people might not guess this about me, especially if they only know me from blogging, because I can interact here so much better than I can in person. But I’d like my blogging buddies to understand what it means to be an introvert & why I sometimes disappear for a while. Thanks Chris for putting this in such a way I think my buddies will understand!

61 Musings

introvertHatePeopleThis is the fifth in a weekly series debunking myths about introverts.  (See last week’s post.)  The basis of the 10 week series is the article written by Carl King.  I will show his thinking, add mine and then encourage all of you to contribute your thoughts on the subject.

Don’t know if you’re an introvert or an extrovert?  Take Susan Cain’s quiz.

Myth #4 – Introverts don’t like people

Carl:  On the contrary, Introverts intensely value the few friends they have. They can count their close friends on one hand. If you are lucky enough for an introvert to consider you a friend, you probably have a loyal ally for life. Once you have earned their respect as being a person of substance, you’re in.

Chris: For this topic, I have to quote from Shakespeare:

Those friends thou hast, and their adoption tried,
Grapple them to…

View original post 1,000 more words

