Credit:  City of Edmonton

Credit: City of Edmonton

Have you ever considered why you live where you live? Do you even know why you live there? Is it because you have always lived there & never even considered moving anywhere else?  Or have you lived in a lot of different places – if so, which was your favorite?

I have followers from all over the world – Great Britain, Australia, New Zealand, India, Brazil, Portugal, Canada & the US.  Hello, Hola, G’Day, Bonjour, Namaste, हेल्लो, Olá – I hope I hit them all for greetings.

Credit:  City of Edmonton

Credit: City of Edmonton

I live in the City of Edmonton, in the Province of Alberta, in the country of Canada.  I have lived here since 2007.  I know why I live in Edmonton – hubby & I came here looking for work after we lost our store.  In 2007 there were a lot of jobs available in Alberta because of boom a few years before & there were not enough people to fill all the jobs.  Hubby & I were both older, we had been out of the job market for many years running our own business, so we needed to be where employees were in big demand. We arrived in Alberta with a job interview for me & a couple of prospects for hubby.  I got the job, so we found a place to live nearby & went from there.  After my job interview here, we drove to Calgary & stayed with cousins for the Canada Day long weekend while we tried to line up job interviews for us in the area.  If one of us had gotten a job in Calgary first, we very well could be living in Calgary right now.

The City of Edmonton has a population of approximately 1.2 million people in the metro area & is found just north of central Alberta.  The city has 4 seasons every year & boasts both a professional football team (Edmonton Eskimos) & a professional hockey team (Edmonton Oilers).  Edmonton is also home to the Gold Medal Olympians in Men’s Curling (the Kevin Martin team) for 2010.  The city is ahead of its time in the area of waste & water management & is working diligently on upgrading the LRT (light rail transit) system.  Approximately 1.5 hours west & north of the city will find you in Jasper in the Rocky Mountains, where you can ski or nature hike to your heart’s content.

Credit:  Travel Alberta (Marmot Basin, Jasper)

Credit: Travel Alberta (Marmot Basin, Jasper)

So now I challenge you – tell me why you live where you live.  Whether it’s Alabama or Brazil, Portugal, Ohio, Iowa, Kansas or Nebraska, New Zealand, Hamilton, Vancouver, London or anywhere else.  Give me the “dets” in my comments or write a post of your own & link back to me.  I’m really interested.  So explain yourself . . .